Norfolk County


Nor­folk Coun­ty is known as the Coun­ty of Pres­i­dents because it is the birth­place of four Pres­i­dents of the Unit­ed States: John Adams, John Quin­cy Adams, John F. Kennedy, and George Her­bert Walk­er Bush.  Nor­folk Coun­ty con­sists of twen­ty-eight (28) east­ern Mass­a­chu­setts com­mu­ni­ties, most­ly locat­ed to the South and West of Boston.

Norfolk County Water Systems & Problems

There are 35 water sys­tems sup­ply­ing the towns in Nor­folk Coun­ty.  Dedham/Westwood to the North, Welles­ley Water Depart­ment (Welles­ley Col­lege has its own sup­ply), Dover Water Com­pa­ny Vnd, Hol­brook Pub­lic Works and thir­ty oth­ers.  The largest sup­pli­er is the Wey­mouth Water Depart­ment (over 52,000 peo­ple) and small­est is Old Farm Road Water Trust in Dover ser­vic­ing approx­i­mate­ly 35 peo­ple.

Most of the homes are ser­viced by the above men­tioned water sup­pli­ers, how­ev­er, there are some pri­vate wells that sup­ply homes in the coun­ty.  The typ­i­cal fil­tra­tion work imple­ment­ed in these wells is for the removal of iron, removal of man­ganese, and the neu­tral­iza­tion of low pH.

For more infor­ma­tion about radon in Nor­folk Coun­ty, see the fol­low­ing link  For more infor­ma­tion about arsenic in water see the link at

Water soft­en­ers and oth­er water fil­tra­tion sys­tems, includ­ing sed­i­ment and car­bon fil­tra­tion and reverse osmo­sis sys­tems are rec­om­mend­ed for the var­i­ous water con­t­a­m­i­nants.